My favorite love story!

# A 3 year old story#

A relation worth living for!

A relation worth living for!

As a teenager I never got convinced with the concept of Love. It meant craze / attraction / etc. to me.
When I met my boyfriend (now husband), I included trust and life long friendship to the list. Marriage corrected the definition a bit and added compromise. With the entry of my darling Son, My husband and I realized it is also shared responsibility and the list kept growing. Until last week

We know this very elderly couple in their late eightys. They were owners of our earlier residence.He was a doctor (Surgeon). 7 Decades ago he eloped with his professor’s daughter and got married. He has been the greatest lover I ever knew – He learnt Marathi for her. Bought and maintained a home as per her tastes. Watched Marati channels. When she- once a headmistress, got diagnosed to have Parkinson’s disease, took care of her day in and day out. He surpassed his own health complications and came out live for her. Whenever he was admitted in the hospital, he would always ask us to visit her.

When he got back home, he partnered with my husband to import and plant Red lotus (her all time favorite) in the garden. Every lotus gave this old couple so much pleasure. He just enjoyed watching her appreciate the flower.

We always thought she was lucky to have this man in her life. Until he was found unconscious in the bed 2 weeks ago. He was rushed to the hospital and put on intensive care. She would visit him at the hospital twice every day. In the beginning she was hopeful that he would get better and come back home. But as the days passed by and he juggled b/w unconscious state and a coma, her hope got dissipated.

On the auspicious day of Boghi (A Hindu festival) she passed away a few hours before him! It is further shocking to know that she was very unusual in her behavior the previous night – She would pray to god multiple times, speak a lot to her son and daughter-in-law and wouldn’t go to bed until she was forced to.

Did she guess something? All these years we thought he was waiting and watching out for her. But was it she?I know not. But I have found my answer to the quest… the undefinable LOVE.

2 thoughts on “My favorite love story!

  1. Welcome to blogosphere! Wonderful posts indeed. This post made me remember seeing the lotus blooms in your first home’s courtyard. This one is my favorite for obvious reasons! #lovestory

    Keep writing, and I promise to keep reading! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

